Institute of Economic Policy News & Events Events
6th workshop in "Applied Economics" 2024 in Hannover

The 6th Workshop for Young Scientists on “Applied Economics”

Science thrives on exchange. This applies in particular to young scientists who are at the beginning of their research career. That is why professors from all economics faculties and institutes from the university of Lower Saxony, Bremen and Saxony-Anhalt joined forces and organized the 6th Workshop for Young Scientists on “APPLIED ECONOMICS”.

The workshop offers the opportunity to discuss intensively current work results and to network. Apart from discussing current research, we plan a poster session and two keynotes by Clément de Chaisemartin (Sciences Po, Paris) und Olaf Lies (Minister for Economic Affairs of Lower Saxony).

The event is financially supported by the Deutsche Bundesbank and takes place in the Leibnizhaus in Hannover.

The workshop takes place on May 2nd and 3rd 2024 in Hannover.

Holzmarkt 4-6
30159 Hannover


Deadline for submissions is the 3rd of March 2024

The workshop is held in English. Every presentation is accompanied by a discussion, such that all submitters are expected to take on a discussion. Travel and  accommodation costs will be covered for accepted speakers. All those interested are cordially invited to attend the workshop, even without presentation. Participation is free of charge.

Discussion papers or extended abstracts can be submitted via mail to by March 3rd. Acceptance will be announced in 2-3 weeks after submission deadline.

Send your Discussion Paper or Extended Abstract to
All important information for speakers at a glance.

The essentials at a glance

Event date 2nd and 3rd May 2024
Deadline for submission of abstracts until 3rd March 2024
Decision about submitted abstracts 2-3 weeks after submission deadline
Registration deadline until 31th of March 2024
Abstracts and registrations to
Venue Leibnizhaus
Holzmarkt 4-6
30159 Hannover
The organisers

Prof. Dr. Valeriya Dinger (University Osnabrück)
Prof. Dr. Erkan Gören (University Oldenburg)
Prof. Dr. Boris Hirsch (Leuphana University Lüneburg)
Prof. Dr. Torben Klarl (University Bremen)
Prof. Dr. Andreas Knabe (University Magdeburg)
Prof. Dr. Markus Ludwig (TU Braunschweig)
Prof. Dr. Stephan L. Thomsen (Leibniz University Hannover)
Prof. Dr. Sebastian Vollmer (University Göttingen)
Prof. Dr. Amelie Wuppermann (University of Halle)